JSA States & Elected Officials

JSA States & Elected Officials

JSA is divided into 10 states, led by an elected Governor and appointed Cabinet members. Chapters collectively form regions within the states and are responsible for planning and executing events and activities including conferences and national activism projects.

As a student-run organization, JSA members, under the leadership of the Council of Governors (body of the 10 elected Governors), initiate, plan, and implement activities, conferences, and make policy recommendations. A JSA student sits on the JSAF Board of Directors and as a Trustee.

The Junior State of America is composed of ten states and territories that together from the national organization.
These states (Arizona Territory, Pacific Northwest, Northern California, Southern California, Texas, Mid-Atlantic, Northeast, Midwest, Ohio River Valley, and the Southeast Territory) are separate entities with separate governments. Each state or territory has its own constitution that broadly outlines its governing protocol. The vast majority of power lies with the individual states and territories.


JSA Arizona includes the states of Arizona and New Mexico.


The Mid-Atlantic, known commonly as the MAS, is composed of two separate regions: the New Jersey Region (NJR) and the South Atlantic. The NJR has two cabinets that are responsible for communicating with chapters and planning one-day events, while the South Atlantic has one cabinet responsible for communicating with chapters.


The Midwest State of the Junior State of America encompasses Illinois, Wisconsin, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Nebraska, and Missouri.


The Empire Constitution Region consists of chapters in New York and Connecticut, while the NER spans Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, Rhode Island, and Maine.

Northern California

Northern California is the oldest state of JSA. It stretches from the northern border of California to San Luis Obispo County in the south.

Ohio River Valley

The Ohio River Valley includes chapters within the state boundaries of Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, West Virginia, and any chapters of Southeastern Indiana.

Pacific Northwest

The Pacific Northwestern State is currently one of the Junior State of America’s largest affiliates, encompassing over 50 chapters over three geographical divisions: The Great Pacific Region, The Inland Empire Region, and Oregon Empire. 


The Southeast is one of JSA's newest areas. It encompasses chapters in Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Georgia.

Southern California

The Southern California state includes Orange County, Greater Los Angeles County, San Diego, and Las Vegas.




The Texas region encompasses the entirety of the Lone Star State along with  Colorado, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Louisiana.

Overview - content